Quinoa and Goats cheese Stuffed Tomatoes

20131125_203424

Quinoa and goats cheese stuffed Tomatoes

I thought I’d try something different for dinner. I wanted to go for something on the healthier side so I found this recipe for stuffed tomatoes. Even though I say I want something healthy, we made a small anti pasto type dish as well consisting of prosciutto, salami, olives and I also made pita bread chips.

The pita bread chips were very easy to make.
– Cut up the whole pita bread into smaller pieces and lay them out on a baking tray.
– Brush with olive oil.
– Sprinkle with a bit of salt as well as cheese (optional)
– Place in oven at 180 degrees for about 5-10 minutes until the pita bread goes hard.
– Serve immediately or you can keep it in a container for up to 3 days. (Personally I don’t think it would last that long they’re so good!)

With the stuffed tomatoes, it wasn’t a hard recipe to follow but I found it to be a bit watery inside after cooked. I’m not sure if it was because I had too much tomato left inside the tomato shell or if I didn’t drain the quinoa properly. It was tasty however but maybe next time we might try stuffed capsicums instead to see if that makes a difference.

http://www.inquiringchef.com/2013/07/18/quinoa-and-goat-cheese-stuffed-tomatoes/ 

Leave a Reply

