Balderdash

20131019_113754 20131019_115623 20131019_115634

Balderdash

http://www.balderdashcafe.com

Small, quiet cafe located in Port Melbourne. We thought we would try a different place we had never tried before. On walking in we were seated straight away. We ordered our usual latte and soy mocha and then proceeded to look at the breakfast menu. I had a look at the menu online before hand and was intrigued by the corn and sweet potato fritters so I ordered that and my partner ordered the omelette with a side of bacon (of course).

When the fritters came out I thought it looked like a bit too much food and about half way through it my thoughts were right. I reckon the dish could’ve done with just two fritters instead of three. One of my fritters was actually quite burnt on the bottom as well. I also thought that the flavours, although they were ok, it could’ve done with some salmon or some sort of meat (probably my fault as it did come with a side of salmon and I declined).

I tasted a bit of the omelette that my partner ordered. It had a nice flavour and the goats cheese gave it a nice salty-ness. My partner however thought it was quite a big omelette and was very filling. He’s a pretty big eater in general but I think the potato and the bread on top made the meal full of carbs.

Overall the place was nice. I might go back one day. The food wasn’t terrible or anything. The service was really good but nothing about the food really wowed us.

Leave a Reply

